05 Apr 2017

Moot Court

Moot Court

If good lawyering skills are essentials for an advocate, then mooting during law school is the greatest asset that a student can inculcate. It gives the students an opportunity to sharpen their skills for extensive research, precise argumentation by exposing them to the simulated environment of the courtroom. DME is committed to promote this means of personal empowerment for social integration and transformation.  With this objective in mind, Delhi Metropolitan Education organized the maiden edition of Inter College National Moot Court Competition from 24th -26th March, 2017.

Teams from 30 Law colleges across India participated on a Moot Problem based on Media and Constitutional Laws. The Competition began on 24th March with the Inaugural Ceremony, where the welcome address was given by Hon’ble Mr. Justice Bhanwar Singh, sir introduced the guests for the day and encouraged the students to be just and fair in the competition and wishing them luck. The guest of honour for the day Ms. Rajshri Rai, editor-in-chief APN News, in her address requested students to be a socially and morally conscious lawyers and citizens. The Chief Guest for the session Hon’ble Mr. Justice A.N Varma inaugurated the Competition after giving his blessings to the students. Sir also shared his own experiences of both the bar and bench thereby encouraging the students to learn from them and become better in their research and arguments. The Officiating Director and head of the department, Law Prof. (Dr.) Bhavish Gupta delivered the Vote of thanks and wished the students luck for the subsequent legal battle stretching 3 days. Inauguration was followed by the Researcher’s test in the Moot court room and draw of lots and exchange of memorial taking place in the Nelson Mandela Auditorium.

The Preliminary round 1 and 2 were held on 25th Morning session whereby 30 practicing lawyers adjudged the mooting skills of the students. All the judges of the preliminary and Quarter Final rounds were felicitated by Director General Hon’ble Mr. Justice Bhanwar Singh and Officiating Director and head of the department, Law Prof. (Dr.) Bhavish Gupta for being so kind and generous in accepting the invitation and adjudging the competition. In the post lunch session 12 teams which qualified in the Quarterfinal round were adjudge by 12 judges. The day ended with 4 Semifinal teams being selected for the next day’s rounds.

The Semifinal round began amongst 4 teams in the morning session with 6 judges. In the post lunch session, the 2 qualifying teams reaching the grand finale were adjudged by Hon’ble Mr. Justice A.N Mittal, Hon’ble Mr. Justice R.B Misra and Hon’ble Mr. Justice Bhanwar Singh. Both the teams presented their best arguments and it was a neck to neck competition. The Valedictory Ceremony began immediately after the final round where all the teams were given participating certificates by the honorable Judges and the following awards were given:

Winner/Best Team – National Law Institute University, Bhopal
Runners Up – National University of Advanced Legal Studies.
Best Mooter – Fairfield Institute of Management and Technology.
Best Researcher – Faculty of Law, Jamia Millia Islamia University.
Best Memorial – National University of Advanced Legal Studies.

The Session with a customary Vote of thanks by the Faculty Convener Ms. Aditi Singh and a group photograph of all the participating teams and the Organizing Committee students with the Honorable dignitaries which was followed by High Tea.